jasondwg

Open Figure Drawing and other Regular Events

IN ADDITION TO ONGOING CLASSES AND WORKSHOPS, SHOESTRING STUDIO HOSTS TWO WEEKLY SESSIONS drawing from life WITH FIGURE MODELs. THESE SESSIONS ARE ALWAYS DROP-IN WITH NO INSTRUCTION COMPONENT, AND OPEN TO MEMBERS AND NON-MEMBERS ALIKE. MEMBERS PAY $10, NON-MEMBERS PAY $15, OR $10 WITH A FRIEND.

Wednesday evening Drink-n-Draw, every Wednesday, 6:30-9pm. $15/ $10

Join us for a rotating cast of professional figure models, hailing from backgrounds as diverse as dance, yoga, burlesque and drag. Poses build exponentially from dynamic two-minute gestures to twenty minutes in length. Easels and chairs are available, drawing supplies are on hand; although we encourage you to bring your own favorite materials, the beer is cold and the camaraderie is warm. 

Sunday afternoon Long Pose Lab, every Sunday, 4-7pm. $15/ $10

We’ve added a second section to our popular weekly figure drawing group. Sundays will be dedicated to long-format poses, with one pose for the entire session. All mediums of painting are welcome, as well as draftsmen focusing on developed drawings. Attendees are encouraged to bring their own supplies. There will be opportunities to work with costumes and environment in the poses.

The Happy Hour Crit, Saturday, December 17, 6-8pm, FREE.

Join us for a Happy Hour Crit! The next one will take place on Saturday, December 17, at Shoestring Studio. Bring a work in progress and an adult beverage or snack to this monthly critique. Moderated by Eileen Murphy. The HH Crit will move around to different studios and spaces in Brooklyn and Manhattan. Subscribe to our newsletter to stay in the loop!

The Brooklyn Draw Jam! First Monday of each month, 7-10pm, $5 Suggested Donation

The Brooklyn Draw Jam is a little different from your average drink and draw. Artists of any skill level can come draw whatever they want and hang out in a relaxed atmosphere. Jammers engage in spontaneous collaborative drawings like jam comics, exquisite corpses, and drawing games. Regulars include Jess WorbyJason DasBrian Elig, and more. Cartoonists and illustrators are welcome to bring their own work as well.

 

Current Events

Shoestring Studio proudly presents “Body Talk,” a multimedia exhibition that presents figurative works in dialogue and challenges traditional notions of femininity. The exhibition consists of new works by Jenny Carolin and Alexis Neider, as well as video of the Brooklyn-based artists' collaborative performance, the "Great Feminist Bake-off." The show will be on view from December 15, 2017 - January 15, 2018, with an opening reception December 15 from 6 - 8 pm at 640 Classon Ave, in Brooklyn.

 

From the press release:  ..."Body Talk," a show of new works, is the artists' latest project. The show places in dialogue Neider's figurative oil paintings with Carolin's figurative charcoal drawings. The works of both artists are large, and the body--or fragments of the body--occupy much of the space. The viewer is asked to interact with tempting or uncomfortable situations: imagining one's own foot stepping into a cake or passing judgment on a character whose actions might feel familiar. 

Alexis Neider and Jenny Carolin present, Body Talk, a show of figurative works in dialogue, Dec. 15- Jan. 15, at Shoestring Studio

Alexis Neider and Jenny Carolin present, Body Talk, a show of figurative works in dialogue, Dec. 15- Jan. 15, at Shoestring Studio

 
holiday-bizarre-2017-web-flyer_1024.jpg

2017 Holiday Bizarre Vendors List

Hey hey we got a vendors list! All these fine folks will be there a-vending at the Holiday Bizarre. The Bizarre will take place on December 10th from 1pm-7pm at Shoestring Press and Shoestring Studio, 640 and 663 Classon Avenue (between Bergen and Dean in Crown Heights, Brooklyn). Admission is free for shoppers.

A. T. Pratt http://atpratt.net
Allison Tran https://www.instagram.com/atrantran 
Authorized to Work in the US Press http://authorizedtowork.us
Brandon Pogrob http://brandonpogrob.com
Brooklyn Draw Jam http://brooklyndrawjam.com/
Chephy Press http://amymayetc.com/holidaybizarre/
Free Sign http://www.freesign.bigcartel.com
From Here to Sunday http://heretosunday.com
Gamechanger mods https://www.instagram.com/gamechanger_mods/
Gant Powell https://www.instagram.com/gantpants
Jason Das http://www.jasondas.com
Jess Worby http://jworby.com/
Jordan Jeffries http://www.jordanjeffries.com
JR Zuckerberg http://jrzuckerberg.tumblr.com
Julia Alekseyeva www.jalekseyeva.com
Kaylee Rowena http://kayleerowena.com
Lame Kids Club http://instagram.com/skulldaggery
Made by Coco Maria https://www.madebycocomaria.com/
Mark Wang http://markwangillustration.com/
Mindy Indy http://www.mindyindy.com
Purgatory Pie Press http://purgatorypiepress.com
Sam Schanwald Studio http://samschanwald.com
Samuel Ferri http://www.misconnected.com
Shoestring Press http://www.shoestringpressny.com/
Shoestring Studio http://shoestringstudiony.com/
Simon Arizpe http://www.simonarizpe.com/
So What? Press http://www.sowhatpress.com/
Vinnie Neuberg http://vinnieneuberg.com